The Nordic Prize for Alternatives to Animal Experiments

The Nordic Prize was established in 1996 to yearly or every other year, reward a scientist or organization for significant contributions towards replacing animal experiments. Three organizations jointly fund the prize: the Swedish Fund for Research Without Animal Experiments, the Danish Alternativfondet, and the Finnish Juliana von Wendts Stiftelse.

Award winner 2012: Professor Stina Oredsson, Lund university

The 2012 Nordic Prize for Alternative to Animal Experiments goes to Stina Oredsson for her great contributions to reduce the use of animals in both research and education. Stina Oredsson has worked with cells and cell lines during her career and many students have been taught how to grow cells as an alternative to animal experiments by Stina Oredsson. In her research about new treatments to breast cancer Stina Oredsson use cancer cells instead of animals.

Award winner 2010: Dr Johnny T. Ottesen, Roskilde universitet, Danmark

Professor Ottesen received the award for his efforts to use mathematical models and computer simulations for research into the  cardiovascular system of humans. 

Award winner 2008: Dr Nina Forss, Helsinki university, Finland

Chronic and intensive pain is a serious problem for the patients suffering from it and new insight into the essence of pain is needed. Traditionally pain research has relied on the use of laboratory animals. Instead of using animals, doctor Nina Forss has unraveled the secrets of pain by using human volunteers. In her studies at the Brain Research Centre of Helsinki she has made use of different methods of brain imaging. Because of the high scientific and technical progress made in the unit, it has been chosen as one of the top research units in Finland.  

Award winner 2007: Dr Anna Forsby, Stockholm university, Sweden

Dr. Anna Forsby and her co-workers at the University of Stockholm are using nerve cell models to replace animal experiments. Diabetes, acute toxicity and eye irritation are examples of the research areas where Dr Forsby has recognised the possibilities of using cultured nerve cells to improve and add important information to other, existing in vitro tests. Her new assay to test if a substance or compound causes mild eye irritation may be an important addition to the battery of tests needed to finally end the cruel and scientifically questionable eye irritation tests on rabbits.
In addition to her research achievements, Anna Forsby is a motivated teacher and supervisor for a new generation of researchers who will have cell models as a tool to use in their future research careers.

Earlier award winners

2006: Professor Lisbeth Ehlert Knudsen, Kopenhagen, Denmark
2005: Dr Tarja Romela, Tampere, Finland
2004: Professor Gunnar Kratz, Linköping, Sweden
2003: Adrian och Karina Smith (NORINA), Norway
2002: Professor Roland Grafström,  Karolinska Institute, Sweden
2001: SSCT (Scandinavian Society of Cell Toxicology)
2000: Eva Selzer Rasmussen, Denmark
1999: Docent Björn Ekwall, Sweden